jump to navigation

Tamara Al-Mashouk on installing “Senior Thesis Exhibition” May 11, 2010

Posted by claralieu in installation, Installing Exhibitions, sculpture, Student blog posts.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Today’s blog post is by Tamara Al-Mashouk, class of 2010 who completed work on her thesis in this year’s Senior Thesis Exhibition. Below you can read her thoughts on working in the gallery this past week.

2010 Senior Thesis Exhibition

The installation of my work began with setting up the standing bookcase. I decided where I wanted to place it, then laid out the eleven frames and four wall shelves. I had had an idea for how I wanted my side of the gallery to be arranged, but chose not to finalize my plans. I wanted the set up to come together as fluidly as the work itself; organically with very little sketching and planning.

Senior Thesis: Installation in Progress

After working out the structure of the show, I started bringing in the tiny objects I had created. I placed them sporadically, moving from the bookcase to the shelves, and onto the frames. I aimed to create a perfect chaos. When all the objects were finally in the gallery I sought to rearrange them to create interactions and an ethereal atmosphere. -Tamara Al-Mashouk

2010 Senior Thesis Exhibition

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment